January in the UK

1

January 31, 2014 by mariannat92

After my last post I stayed in the UK for another couple of weeks, so here’s a quick round up of what I got up to…

P1060568

In the first week of January I popped down to London with my mum for the day. To start off with we thought we’d be like well cool and go and be hipsters in Shoreditch, but in the end we didn’t really get the appeal. I think that we must actually be a bit too cool for it,  that’s the only explanation… After that we decided to go shopping for things we can’t afford instead, and went luxury window shopping in Libertys and Fortnum & Mason. That evening we met up with Sophie, a friend of Mum’s from uni who I haven’t seen since I was about 8 months old. She was absolutely lovely and we had a great dinner together in Spitalfields!

P1060578

The weekend after, I headed down to Lewes to visit my aunt and uncle for a couple of days. My Auntie doesn’t finish work until late so I decided to spend the afternoon sightseeing in Brighton before meeting up with her. However, no sooner had I got to Victoria Station than I found out that all the trains from there to Brighton were cancelled. Thinking that I would be stranded in London until lunchtime, I walked over to Westminster to explore and take some photos. Then I got the tube over to the Southbank for lunch and, as I was eating, I happened to check my phone… and discovered that all trains were cancelled until that evening. I panicked at this point – I had only expected to be in London for an hour or so – and decided to walk further down the river to ask what my options were at London Bridge station. Luckily I happened to walk by Blackfriars Station and noticed that the next train was actually a train to Brighton. An absolute miracle! So, even with delays, I managed to arrive in Brighton with a good few hours before my train to Lewes. Perfect for a spot of sightseeing…

P1060622 Finally in Brighton – a stroll on the pier

P1060634

P1060597… And in the Pavillion

20140110_231100

That evening I got the train up to Lewes and met up with my Aunt and Uncle for the first time in what seems like years! We had a lovely dinner and a long long catch up, as well as  playing with their cats a lot.This is Stanley, the baby, he was so cute! And he totally refused to leave me alone, so there were plenty of photo opportunities.

20140111_135104

The next morning we got up early for a shopping trip to Portsmouth with my aunt’s friend. Luckily my uncle decided to come too, which was a really nice surprise! We had a brilliant time going round the shops and had a delicious lunch at Wagamamas. The original plan was to go straight home but when we got back in the car my uncle mentioned going to West Wittering for a walk on the beach. I’m so glad he did because it was absolutely beautiful, especially the beach huts!

I absolutely loved being down in Lewes, it was brilliant to spend so much time together and I had so much fun. It was definitely sad to leave and I can’t wait to see them again when I get back to the UK!

DSCF7028

On my last day at home I drove over to Felixstowe to see one of my all time favourite people, my good friend Fezza. Nat and I met through music when we were at school and don’t see each other nearly enough, so it’s always a treat to get together. As always, we decided to hit up Aldeburgh together for some fish and chips (the best in the country, don’t you know) and a stroll on the beach, and then pop over to Snape Maltings, where we used to play all our concerts back in Wind Band, for coffee and cake. Hopefully Nat’ll be coming over for a bit in the Summer – fingers crossed!

And then, after almost a month at home, it was time to return to Coimbra for second semester. I’ll try and write about that later this week so, until then, até logo!

One thought on “January in the UK

  1. Emily says:

    love the photo of the end of the pier! ahh makes me wish I had some family outside of Suffolk, none of ours have managed to escape yet 😉

Leave a Reply

Archives

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

